What Pens Do I Use?

DSCF5512

It would seem that Pen and Ink artists use a variety of pens, even on a single piece of artwork. So here’s what I used for the above piece.

From right to left:

Pentel 120 A3DX 0.7mm Mechanical Pencil

Pentel Brush Pen – GFKP3A

Copic Multiliner Black 0.05mm

Copic Multiliner SP 0.1mm

rotring Tikky Graphic Pen 0.1mm (adds a thicker line than the Copic 0.1mm)

Sakura Pigma Micron 005 (0.05mm) & 01 (0.1mm).

Is that enough to be getting on with?

Each pen, regardless of nib width, has its own effect and character, which adds to the image as a whole.

For the most part, the Pentel mechanical pencil is used to outline the border and sometimes used to outline the image as well. The Pentel brush pen was used sparingly in this piece, but it is a stunning tool to work with.

The Copic Multiliner’s do not suit my style of drawing. The normal Multiliner’s have only lasted a few hours, and the Multiliner SP has a super-fine metal tip, which has stopped working properly in my 0.03mm Copic SP, has bent in my 0.05mm pen, but the 0.1 seems to be holding up for now. The Multiliner SP is a strange beast to work with. You can hear the pen ‘scratching’ the paper, but it (0.1mm) is a smooth tool to work with, more so than the normal fibre-tip Multiliner.

Because if the semi unreliability of these types of graphic pens for my particular style, I’m going to have to re-think what I’m doing and maybe change my approach to how I use these pens. I’m still used to working with biro, and so I’m trying to use these technical pens in the same way, which is good, if I want to ware them out, and bankrupt myself by the end of the month!

rotring Tikky Graphic (lower case ‘r’ for some reason) … is a good product, although for fine work I find it a bit too dark and heavy and the line is too thick for what I want. And so I use it to blend in the marks made from the Pentel brush pen.

Sakura Pigma Micron pens I’ve only purchased them this week. On initial use, they seems better and smoother than the Copic Mulitliner’s. I’m hoping they’ll survive longer than the Multiliner’s.

Leave a Reply

